Dear Colleague,

We would like to invite you to the 1st Brazilian CTA Collaboration Meeting that will be held in August 20-21st, 2015 at Universidade de Sao Paulo – Instituto de Astronomia, Geofisica e Ciencias Atmosfericas (IAG-USP).

The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) is an international collaboration involving 30 countries, including Brazil, aiming at  the construction of the largest Gamma-Ray Observatory until 2020. It will provide the deepest insight into the non-thermal high-energy Universe ever reached and allow significant contributions to Astrophysics, Astroparticle Physics and Cosmology. It will probe the physical conditions of the cosmic ray accelerators, like black hole sources, pulsars, supernovae,  and gamma-ray bursts; the composition and origin of  the dark matter,  and the cosmic magnetic fields. It will have a factor of 5-10 improvement in sensitivity in the 100 GeV-10 TeV range and an extension to energies well below 100 GeV and above 100 TeV.  CTA will consist of two arrays (one in the North, another in the Southern Hemisphere with about 100 telescopes of three different sizes) for full sky coverage and will be operated as an open observatory.

Currently, the Brazilian community is involved in the development of several parts of the CTA telescopes (SSTs, MSTs and LSTs) and also in the construction of the ASTRI Mini-Array which will be the CTA Precursor, as well as in the CTA Science case development, in  Monte Carlo simulations for the best array configurations and the set-up of a  CTA data-center.

The selected CTA South site will be announced soon and it is time for the Brazilian community of High Energy Astrophysics, Astroparticle Physics and Cosmology to plan the next steps of its involvement in this big Consortium.

The Meeting will have overview presentations of the CTA and Mini-Array Projects, CTA Science prospects, and potential links with other High Energy Projects, as well as Discussion Sessions.

If you are interested in participating, you may contact us informing your Institute, position and research interests.

Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC)

Ulisses Barres de Almeida (co-chair)
Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino (chair)
Vitor de Souza
Ronald Shellard

Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino
Claudio Melioli
Rodrigo Nemmen
Reinaldo Santos-Lima
Chandra Singh